ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

Sixmilebridge to launch Road Hurling Championship.

posted 25 Feb 2011, 03:26 by Unknown user   [ updated 25 Feb 2011, 03:27 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Hurling stars turn out to launch Sixmilebridge Road Hurling championship.


TOP hurling stars turned out on Thursday, February 24, at Sixmilebridge GAA club to launch the 2011 Sixmilebridge Road Hurling championship.


Clare senior hurling team captain Pat Vaughan was joined by Banner County team-mate Diarmuid McMahon for the official launch.


Conor O'Mahony from All-Ireland senior hurling champions Tipperary was also in attendance, along with Limerick star Niall Moran.


And completing the line-up were two Sixmilebridge GAA legends - former players Davy Fitzgerald and Niall Gilligan - who won All-Ireland SHC medals with Clare in 1995 and 1997, as well as a coveted All-Ireland club hurling crown in 1996.


Fitzgerald is currently manager of the 2010 Munster senior hurling champions Waterford while Gilligan continues to impress in the saffron and blue of Sixmilebridge, having enjoyed a glittering intercounty career.


The Sixmilebridge Road Hurling championship is an exciting and novel event which will take place on Saturday, March 19, starting at the Pump House pub in Kilmurry, Sixmilebridge.


A host of top intercounty stars will take to the roads from 10am-6pm, battling it out against each other for the coveted Sixmilebridge Road Hurling championship crown.


As well as the aforementioned stars, Kilkenny ace Eddie Brennan will also compete, along with Cork forward Kieran Murphy.


Galway pair Joe Canning and Iarla Tannian have also signed up and will be joined by six-time Allstar Eoin Kelly, who captained Tipperary to All-Ireland senior glory in 2010.


Other county stars from Waterford and Clare will also participate as the two counties go head-to-head in an early season Munster championship clash with a difference!


Contact the Clare GAA Office at


This email was sent to: