ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

Hall of Fame Winners

posted 11 Nov 2010, 03:17 by Unknown user   [ updated 11 Nov 2010, 03:18 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

11 November 2010

Hall of Fame Winners Announced for 2010 Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards

Tipp and Cork Legends to join Elite Band

CORK footballing hero Declan Barron and Tipperary hurling star Mick Roche are the latest Munster legends to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, it was announced today. The two greats will be receive their awards at the upcoming Bord Gáis Energy Munster GAA Awards which is taking place on 27 November 2010 in the Malton Hotel, Killarney.

Declan Barron spent most of his footballing career with Bantry Blues and Cork where he won five All-Ireland medals, two at minor, two at under-21 and one at senior in 1973, and two All-Star awards. Tipperary hurler Mick Roche played with Carrick Davins and Tipperary where he won three All-Ireland medals and four Munster medals.   Barron and Roche join fellow GAA greats in the Hall of Fame including Seamus Durack, Eamon Cregan, Mick O’Connell and Billy Morgan

Speaking on the announcement of the Hall of Fame winners for 2010, Bord Gáis Energy Sports Sponsorship Manager Ger Cunningham said “Bord Gáis Energy is delighted to be sponsoring the Munster GAA Awards once again for 2010. It is a great event to honour and reward all those who have made significant contributions to Munster’s GAA.”

Sean Walsh Chairman of Munster GAA said ‘’The Munster Council is delighted to be honouring people who have made a huge contribution GAA affairs in the Province.   I would like to congratulate all the Award recipients and thank Bord Gais Energy for their continued sponsorship’’.

Other 2010 winners also announced today are Michael Dundon of the Tipperary Star who won the Media Award; Bart Moriarty, Kerry for services to Refereeing; Tom Collum, Tipperary took the Education Award for his work with Schools:; Gerald McKenna, Kerry won the award for Distinguished Service to GAA ; Cork’s Eoin Conway won the Intermediate Hurling Award and Kerry’s Michael O’Donoghue won the Junior Football Award.

This Award scheme was inaugurated in 1998 to honour and acknowledge the achievements of Players, Referees, Administrators and Clubs as well as  Special Merit Awards while two former greats are inducted into the Munster Hall of Fame each year.