ARCHIVE‎ > ‎News Archive‎ > ‎

GAA Press Release

posted 22 Aug 2011, 03:42 by Unknown user   [ updated 22 Aug 2011, 03:43 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]



Matters arising from today’s Ard Chomhairle meeting at Croke Park include:




The GAA have decided that Hawk-Eye Technology will be used on a two year pilot basis for all Championship football and hurling games played in Croke Park Stadium from 2012.


A full review will be conducted at the end of the two year pilot period and this proposal is subject to Congress approval


Allianz Hurling League 2012


There will be six teams in each division in the Allianz Hurling League 2012


Division 1a     Kilkenny, Dublin, Waterford, Tipperary, Galway, Cork

Division 1B      Wexford, Offaly, Limerick, Clare, Laois, Antrim

Division 2A      Down, Carlow, Kerry, Westmeath, Wicklow, Derry

Division 2B     London, Kildare, Meath, Armagh, Mayo, Roscommon


       Six teams in each Division

       Five Rounds in each Division

       Promotion/Relegation: Top teams contest final. Winners promoted

       Bottom two teams in each Division contest a Relegation Play Off and the losing team is relegated

(Counties identified as per 2011 Allianz League finishing positions


Division 3A :Louth, Fingal, Donegal, Sligo, Monaghan and Tyrone

Division 3B Longford, Leitrim, Fermanagh and Warickshire


Allianz Football League 2012

The Allianz Football League format will remain in place as in 2011 with additional Semi Finals in  Division 1 only.