ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Hurling Match Reports‎ > ‎

Waterford Crystal Cup Q-Final - Limerick v Clare - Match Report

posted 6 Feb 2012, 03:36 by Unknown user   [ updated 6 Feb 2012, 03:36 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]
Neighbours inseparable
WATERFORD CRYSTAL CUP/Limerick 1-15 Clare 0-18 (after double extra time)
TWO LOTS of extra-time couldn’t separate neighbours and rivals Clare and Limerick in the Waterford Crystal Senior Hurling Cup quarter-final, played under lights at Sixmilebridge on Saturday. At the end of normal time the sides were level, again after two periods of 10 minutes and even when a further two phases of five minutes were played, they were locked on level scores. Over the 100 minutes, Limerick led only once, yet it was Clare who had to come from behind through an Aaron Cunningham pointed free, close to the end of this highly entertaining marathon.
It took a Declan Hannon free in injury-time – after Clare’s James McInerney was adjudged to have thrown the sliotar – to send the tie to extra-time. Clare led by 0-15 to 1-11 at the end of 10 minutes but they were again level at the end of normal extra-time, 0-17 to 1-14. Limerick, with new manager John Allen on the sideline for the first time, agreed another two five-minute periods. The replay will be held at Limerick’s Gaelic Grounds on Tuesday night at 7pm.
LIMERICK: N Quaid; S Walsh; T Condon; S O’Neill; B O’Sullivan; W McNamara (0-2); T Ryan; D O’Grady; C Allis (0-2), D Hannon (1-11, 0-8 frees); J Ryan; N Maher; M Carmody; T Quaid; E Gleeson. Subs: G Mulcahy for Quaid (28 mins); G O’Mahoney for Maher (45 mins); T O’Callaghan for O’Sullivan (45 mins); B Geary for Gleeson (54 mins); D Moloney for Walsh (80 mins); M Carr for Ryan (98 mins).
CLARE: P Kelly (Inagh-Kilnamona); D O’Donovan; C Dillon; C Cooney; J McInerney; E Barrett; S Morey; N O’Connell (0-6, 0-4 frees); P Donnellan (0-3); C Chaplin; D Keane; F Lynch; E Hayes (0-1), A Cunningham (0-6, frees); J Clancy (0-1). Subs: C Galvin for Hayes (50 mins); J Conlon (0-1) for Keane (56 mins); P Kelly (Clarecastle) for Chaplin (95 mins).
Referee: C McAllister (Cork).
(After double extra-time)