ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Hurling Match Reports‎ > ‎


posted 21 Sep 2010, 03:03 by Unknown user   [ updated 4 Oct 2010, 11:20 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Cratloe 0-12     Newmarket on Fergus  0-11

You could be forgiven for searching, but there was no silver canister on

show at Cusack Park last Saturday. But then you could easily excuse the

victors their delight at Ger Hoey's final whistle too. Cratloe, pummeling

the label of 'a flash in the pan' had just nosed out the bookies perennial

pretenders to the throne after four years of narrow defeat to the Blue's.


The final scoreline hardly justifies it but this was one pulsating hour's

hurling. And one which a strengthening breeze at Cusack Park threatened to

toy with from the throw in. Newmarket, understandably, chose to hurl with

it at their backs in the opening half but in the end, it was the hurling

played against the elements rather than with it that tilted the result for

Cratloe. Six first half points against the wind in the opening half as

oppose to Newmarket's  three after the turnaround clawed the champions

through to only their fourth ever County semi Final.


A physically imposing Newmarket played the more direct hurling for the

most of the opening half feeding 'Big James' McInerney with an aerial

supply at the edge of the square. Equal to the pressure however was Barry

Duggan who with David Ryan and Phillip Gleeson went toe to toe with the

pace of Newmarkets corner forwards and settled into the contest superbly.

Infact Cratloe had the cheek to twice lead in the opening half before

succumbing to a late surge by Newmarket before the break.


Frees through Colin Ryan and Bernard Gaffney cancelled out early Cratloe

points from Conor McGrath and James Enright.


Some of Cratloe's build up play was at times sublime but in conducting

their running and passing game, they were at times left open in defence on

Newmarket's encounter and had to rely on goalkeeper Sean Hawes and Duggan

infront of him to twice deny Newmarket's David Barrett and Mike McInerney

bearing down on goal.  A 65' yard free put Newmarket infront midway

through the half before Cratloe's Conor Ryan rattled the side netting

after a Conor McGrath breakaway toward goal. McGrath vied hard for the man

of the match award and hurled through two markers on the afternoon,

neither with an answer his pace. Another pointed free from the corner

forward two minutes before the interval put Cratloe into a 0-06 to 0-05

move before Newmarket shrugged clear with two David Barrett strikes and a

looping score from the standside from Gaffney.


The opening quarter of second half eventually saw Newmarket brawl their

way three clear with an Eoin O Brien free. Shortly after Cratloe were

forced to withdraw pacey midfielder Óige Murphy but replacement Barry

Gleeson filled the gap admirably at corner forward on his introduction.

With Sean Chaplin, Paudge Collins and James Enright working tirelessly,

Newmarket were clawed back when Enright, Sean Collins and McGrath pointed

to tie the contest at 0-11 each.


The final quarter was a thrilling affair. Newmarket introduced injured

James McInerney and pipped back into the lead with an Eoin O Brien point

on the run but all along Cratloe seemed to have more fuel in the tank and

were unlucky not to stretch infront before McGrath eventually struck a

double, one from a close range free and a stirring point from play to put

his side clear.


Still the favourites pressed but each time they did they found a resolute

defence where John O Gorman, Mikey Hawes and Liam Markham finished the

game brilliantly.


Cratloe's satisfaction was very obvious at the end. They may have to

search hard for the compliment in it but Newmarket are annually, the

measure by which contenders for the Canon Hamilton are weighed.  Add to

that their dominance in the last three championship head to heads with

Cratloe and you can pardon the victors their few smiles.  Talk of the next

round could wait a few hours.


That day's work is a mouthwatering semi final with Clonlara, who'll need

little incentive after seizing their County honours to Cratloe last

October. Clon' overcame a quietly fancied Clooney/Quin side in business

like fashion on Saturday in Shannon and will be gunning for their

neighbours in a fortnights time. At the other side of the draw

Sixmilebridge and O Callaghans Mills drew 1-13 apiece and Crusheen had a

goal to spare over Clarecastle.



Ar Aghaidh Linn


Cratloe; S Hawes, P Gleeson, B Duggan, D Ryan, L Markham, M Hawes, J O

Gorman, M Óg Murphy, S Chaplin (0-1), S Collins (0-2), J Enright (0-2), D

Browne (0-1), C McGrath (0-5 - 2f), C Ryan (0-1), P Collins. B. Gleeson 40

mins. E.Boyce 50 mins.