ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Hurling Match Reports‎ > ‎

Senior B Final

posted 24 Oct 2011, 02:39 by Unknown user   [ updated 24 Oct 2011, 02:39 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

NEWMARKET ON FERGUS................1-16       CLARECASTLE..............2-6

    Newmarket added another hurling title to their roll of honour with an emphatic seven point win over old  foes Clarecastle in Clareabbey in a low key senior B decider. The inclement weather conditions forced the change of location from Newmarket to the heartland of magpie country. This goes with the Junior A and C titles already bagged.

Colin Ryan was hero of the hour for Newmarket as he finished the game with a dozen scores including an expertly taken sideline cut. The scoring rate was similar to the recent county football final in the first half as Newmarket dominated without scoring as Clarecastle were unable to hold the ball in the half forward line in the first half and were little better in the second period.

Colin Ryan opened the scoring and by the 22nd minute his three points were the only scores on the board as David Green made way on the Clarecastle side for Derek Quinn. Ryan added a converted 65  in the 25th minute after he saw his goal effort deflected by a Clarecastle hurley. Ryan once more made it five points in the 28th before David Barrett became the games second scorer after 30 minutes as Eamonn Callinan finally got Clarecastle off the mark from a free on the stroke of half time to leave the “home” side (0-6) to (0-1) in arrears. Little short of a brace of goals or a Newmarket collapse would bring Clarecastle back into contention but that looked unlikely as Newmarket led by Ryan and aided by the Barretts and James McInerney ripped Clarecastle apart in the opening minutes of the new half scoring three points in quick succession. The sharpshooters were Colin Ryan (2) and James McInerney between the 32nd and 34th minutes.

Clarecastle finally struck hard at Newmarket  when Danny Scanlon finished off from a Derek Quinn rebound that hit the Newmarket post. Colin Ryan and Tyrone Kierse with a tremendous effort that dew deserved applause from the weather beaten attendance exchanged scores in the 40th minute. The match winning score if it was required was executed by Anthony Kilmartin from close range after being set up by Shane O Brien. Colin Ryan (2) and Eamonn Callinan (2) swopped scores in a three minutes spell between the 47th and 50th minutes as six points (1-13) to (2-4) separated the sides. Darragh Moloney had struck for Clarecaslte second goal after a series of long deliveries into the Newmarket square reaped dividends.

The final ten minutes petered out as Sconie Kilmartin hit a brace allied to Ryan’s 12th score with Callinan and Seanie Moloney scoring consolation points before Ambrose Heagney’s welcome long whistle. Best for the winners were Kieran Devitt who will feature greatly for Clare next season, Padraig Kilmartin, James McInerney, Enda Barrtt, David Barrett, man of the match Colin Ryan and Anthony Kilmartin as Shane O Brien was bid a fond farewell beginning a surjourn abroard.

NEWMARKET ON FERGUS: Kieran Devitt,  Shane O Brien jnr, Stephen Kelly, Padraig Kilmartin, Darren O Connor,  James McInerney (0-1), Enda Barrett, Sean O Connor, Eoin O Brien, Shane O Brien, David Barrett (0-1), Eoin Hayes, Enda Kelly, Anthony Kilmartin (1-2), Colin Ryan (0-12). Subs: Tommy Griffin for A Kilmartin, Noel Frawley for E Kelly, Alan Barrett for Hayes.  

CLARECASTLE: Donagh Murphy, Stephen O Halloran, Sean Moloney (0-1), Kevin Clohessy, Fergus Ryan Pat Kelly, Eric Flynn, Danny Scanlon (1-0), Jonathan Clancy, Darragh Moloney (1-0), Ciaran O Dwyer, Eamonn Callinan (0-4), Conor O Gorman, David Green, Tyrone Kierse (0-1). Subs: Derek Quinn for Green, Briain Lynch for O Gorman, Alan O Loughlin for O Dwyer.

Referee: Ambrose Heagney (Corofin)

After the game chairman of the county board Michael O Neill presented the  Senior B cup to Newmarket captain Enda Barrett.