ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Hurling Match Reports‎ > ‎

Cork seal three-point win over Clare

posted 11 Jul 2015, 16:32 by John O'Sullivan   [ updated 11 Jul 2015, 16:33 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Cork 0-20      Clare 0-17


Honours to Cork in this All-Ireland SHC qualifier Round 2 clash, the Rebels beating Clare to the tape in a driving finish thanks to a four-point burst from sharpshooter Patrick Horgan and sub Paudie O'Sullivan in the closing stages.

Clare opened well with three good points - Shane O’Donnell, Tony Kelly and Conor McGrath on the mark - before Cork responded through Seamus Harnedy, Conor Lehane and Patrick Horgan (free).

Cork again played with two in the inside forward line, Harnedy and Lehane, while Clare gave Kelly to roam outfield, Cork putting Brian Lawton on his trail.

Clare nudged two ahead by the 21st minute, by which time Cork had racked up ten wides, but the men in red went ahead on on 26 minutes after Lehane, Horgan and Alan Cadogan points - Colin Ryan tying it up from a free a minute later.

Conors McGrath and Ryan pushed Clare two ahead but a late burst from Cork - two Horgan frees and Patrick Cronin - put them one up at the half, 0-10 to 0-9.

The teams exchanged points on the resumption before wayward shooting took over. Cork got their noses ahead by two points in the 51st minute thanks to a good point by substitute Jamie Coughlan.

The teams then exchanged wides again (Cork two, Clare three) before Shane O’Donnell equalised.

Clare pushed two ahead with points from Darach Honan and sub Colm Galvin and looked set for the win, only for Cork hit five points on the bounce to set up a quarter-final bout with Galway on July 26.

Scorers for Cork: P Horgan 0-8 (0-5 fs); P Cronin, S Harnedy, C Lehane 0-2 each; A Walsh, C Murphy, B Cooper, A Cadogan, J Coughlan and P O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare: T. Kelly 0-5 (0-2 fs); C. McGrath 0-3; Colin Ryan (fs), S. O’Donnell 0-2 each; D. McInerney, Conor Ryan, D. Honan, S. Golden and C. Galvin 0-1 each.

CORK: A. Nash ( c), S. McDonnell, B. Murphy, D. Cahalane, C. Murphy, M. Ellis, A. Walsh, D. Kearney, B. Lawton, A. Cadogan, P. Cronin, B. Cooper, C. Lehane, S. Harnedy, P. Horgan.

Subs: R. O’Shea for Kearney, 42; J. Coughlan for Cadogan, 49; P. O’Sullivan for Cronin, 57; D. McCarthy for Lawton, 64; J. Conlon for Honan, 66.

CLARE: P. Kelly, D. McInerney, C. Dillon ( c), S. Morey, B. Bugler, Conor Ryan, J. Browne, P. O’Connor, Colin Ryan, J. Conlon, T. Kelly, S. Golden, D. Honan, S. O’Donnell, C. McGrath.

Subs: A. Cunningham for Conlon, HT; P. Donnellan for Colin Ryan, 42; C. Gavin for Golden, 48; D. Reidy for Morey, 56.

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)