ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Hurling Match Reports‎ > ‎

Clare overrun Kerry in 1st Half

posted 28 Mar 2011, 09:55 by Unknown user   [ updated 28 Mar 2011, 10:04 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Clare 6-23    Kerry 1-18

Clare's quest for promotion remains on track following this comprehensive victory at Cusack Park.

But for two good saves by Kerry 'keeper Brendan Rochford in the second half, the visitors would have lost by an even bigger margin.

The outcome was forecast as early as the third minute when Clare enjoyed a 1-2 to no score lead, thanks to points from Colin Ryan and 

Sean Collins and a John Conlon goal.

By half-time, Kerry trailed 4-15 to 1-6, with Conlon adding a second goal, in addition to maximums by Diarmuid McMahon and Nicky O'Connell.

Though inferior in nearly all facets of the game, Kerry were gallant and they did manage to raise a green flag in the 34th minute after 

corner-forward John Egan fielded a long delivery from a Darragh O'Connell free and slotted coolly to the Clare net.

Within six minutes of the restart, Clare registered a fifth goal. Conlon set up McMahon and the full-forward made no mistake with a clean 

shot on the run.

Despite being outclassed, Kerry exhibited a never-day-die attitude and were rewarded with some fine points by their scorer-in-chief O'Connell 

from placed balls.

But Clare added a sixth goal when a Caimin Morey free late in the game was deflected to the net.

Scorers for Clare: J Conlon (2-1), D McMahon (2-1), N O’Connell (1-4) 0-1 f, 0-1 ‘65, C Morey (1-0) f, S Collins (0-3), D Honan (0-3), 

J Clancy (0-3), C McGrath (0-3) 1 f, F Lynch (0-2), C Ryan (0-2), f’s, J McInerney (0-1) f. 

Scorers for Kerry: D O’Connell (0-11) 11 f’s, J Egan (1-1), S Nolan (0-3), R Kenny (0-1), C Harris (0-1), M Conway (0-1) f. 

CLARE: D Tuohy, P Vaughan (Capt.), C Cooney, D O’Donovan, B Bugler, J McInerney, C Dillon, N O’Connell, S Collins, J Colon, 
F Lynch, J Clancy, C Ryan, D McMahon, C McGrath. 

Subs: D Honan for Ryan inj. (17), P Donnellan for McInerney (49), C McInerney for McMahon (51), C Morey for Lynch (57), 
L Markham for O’Connell (64). 

KERRY: B Rochford, E Fitzgerald, T Murnane, C Harris, P O’Grady, M Conway, A Royle, P Costello, D Dineen, S Nolan, L Boyle (Capt.), 
D Wallace, D O’Connell, R Kenny, J Egan. 

Subs: J Casey for Royle (17), J Flaherty for Wallace (59), T Moloney for Kenny (59), D Fitzell for Costello (63).