ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Football Match Reports‎ > ‎

Banner Footballers defeat students

posted 17 Jan 2011, 02:41 by Unknown user   [ updated 17 Jan 2011, 02:46 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Clare 0-10           Cork IT 0-9 

Clare claimed the spoils in this competitive McGrath Cup quarter-final at Cooraclare yesterday.

Fifteen minutes had elapsed before Alan Clohessy opened the home account after good work by full-forward Timmy Ryan. Points from Rory Donnelly, 

David O’Brien (free) and substitute David Tubridy had Clare three clear by the 32nd minute but CIT surged back to draw level courtesy of scores from 

Walsh, Dónal Óg Hodnett and Peadar O’Driscoll. 

Clare started the second half brightly with points from Clohessy and Tubridy but again they were quickly reeled in with Hodnett and sub Andy O’Brien 

finding the target. Kildorrery clubman O’Brien made a telling difference when introduced for John Dinneen. He kicked four points, two from play and was 

a constant danger to the Clare defence. 

Clohessy, Darren O’Neill and Donnelly again came to Clare’s aid with points (0-9 to 0-6) before CIT again hit back to narrow the gap. O’Brien landed 

two scores from free-kicks before the whistle but a Tubridy point five minutes from time kept Clare’s interest in the competition alive. 

Scorers for Clare: D Tubridy (0-3) 1 f, A Clohessy (0-3) 2 f’s, R Donnelly (0-2), D O’Brien (0-1) f, D O’Neill (0-1). 

Scorers for CIT: A O’Brien (0-4) 2 f’s, BJ Walsh (0-2) 1 f, D Óg Hodnett (0-2) f’s, P O’Driscoll (0-1). 

CLARE: Joe Hayes, N White, L Healy, M McMahon, Graham Kelly, Gordon Kelly (Capt.) John Hayes, G Brennan, C O’Connor, D Daly, S McNeilis, 
D O’Brien, R Donnelly, T Ryan, A Clohessy. 

Subs: D Tubridy for G Brennan inj. (13), S Brennan for O’Brien (half-time), D O’Neill for McNeilis (43). 

CIT: B Walsh (Cork), B McGuire (Kerry), S O’Donoghue (Cork), R O’Dwyer (Cork), P Minihane (Cork), B Russell (Cork), C O’Driscoll (Cork), 
P Daly (Cork), S O’Hare (Waterford), P O’Driscoll (Cork), BJ Walsh (Kerry), R Power (Cork), J Dinneen (Cork), H Curran (Cork), D Óg Hodnett (Cork). 

Subs: A Walsh (Cork) for Daly inj. (8), B O’Regan (Cork) for McGuire (half-time), S Kelleher (Cork) for P O’Driscoll (40), A O’Brien (Cork) for Dinneen (50),
 W O’Mahony (Cork) for Hodnett inj. (56). 

Referee: K O’Brien (Tipperary