ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Football Match Reports‎ > ‎

U21C Final

posted 3 Oct 2010, 02:51 by Unknown user   [ updated 3 Oct 2010, 02:53 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Coolmeen 2-9     Naomh Eoin-OCurry's 1-6

A brace of superbly finished goals from Jamie Brooks helped Coolmeen to pick up their second successive U-21C championship in Kilrush last Saturday. 
Centre-forward Kevin Corry, who also scored two points, was instrumental in setting up both goals. The winners led 0-6 to 0-3 at the interval. Naomh Eoin-O’Curry’s, all of whom are U-21 again next year, fought manfully against their more experienced opponents. Jack Scanlon, who is emerging as one of his club’s most promising players, scored Naomh Eoin-O’Curry’s goal in the second half. 
Along with Jamie Brooks and Kevin Corry, Coolmeen captain Cathal O’Connor, full-back Martin McMahon and goalkeeper Conor Meaney also excelled for the winners, whose mentors were Mike Murphy and Enda Haugh. 
While Naomh Eoin-O’Curry’s were disappointed to lose, having also lost the minor C decider, they are a very young U-21 team. A number of them should feature in the 2011 Clare minor football panel. 

Coolmeen: Conor Meaney; Martin McMahon, Eoin Murphy; Jason O’Leary, Alan Marrinan, Aaron Kelly; Cathal O’Connor (c), Joe Corry; Mikey McGuane, Kevin Corry, Jamie Brooks; Darragh McNamara, Shane McMahon. 
Scorers: Jamie Brooks (2-0), Kevin Corry, Alan Marrinan, Joe Corry, Cathal O’Connor (0-2 each), Shane McMahon (0-1). 
Subs: Ruairí Quinn for Darragh McNamara, Gerry McInerney for Mikey McGuane. 

Naomh Eoin-O’Curry’s: Kieran Magner; Ryan McMahon, Finbarr O’Gorman; Cathal McMahon, Eoin Brew, Ian Roche; Michael Considine, Tom Downes; Shane Keane, Thomas Roche, Dermot O’Gorman; Jack Scanlon, Gearóid Lynch. 
Scorers: Jack Scanlon (1-4); Shane Keane, Gearóid Lynch (0-1) each. 
Sub: Ronan Clohessy for Finarr O’Gorman.