ARCHIVE‎ > ‎archive 2015‎ > ‎Football Match Reports‎ > ‎

Munster U17 Final

posted 1 Nov 2011, 03:48 by Unknown user   [ updated 1 Nov 2011, 03:48 by Denis Tuohy Agricultural Consultant ]

Tipperary 1-11    Clare 0-8 

    Tipperary produced a stunning final few minutes to win a thrilling Munster U17 football final at Limerick’s Gaelic Grounds yesterday.

The winners had five of the side who helped the county to their memorable All-Ireland minor championship title in their starting line-up but it was second half sub Philip Quirke who emerged as man of the match. 

Clare had the opening point before Tipperary picked off four in a row, three by Adrian Dawson, (two frees) and another by Tom Kirwan. Conor Cleary, however, brought Clare back into contention with four points as the Banner led 0-5 to 0-4 at the break. 

However a pointed free by Cleary and another by sub Eimhin Courtney nudged Clare into a three-point lead before Tipperary hit back with three unanswered scores to level the tie. 

But inside the final 10 minutes the Premier boys took control. Quirke converted a penalty and points from him, Dawson and Liam Casey fired them to victory and the Daryl Darcy Cup. Liam Hayes, Dylan Fitzgerald and captain Dylan Fitzelle shone in defence for Tipperary and up front, Adrian Dawson was a constant threat, while Quirke sparkled. 

Sean Corry, Sean Garry and Conor McNellis were best in defence for Clare with Barry Lynch giving good support to Conor Cleary in attack. 

Scorers for Tipperary: P Quirke 1-3 (1pen gl), A Dawson 0-4 (2f), TJ Ryan 0-2, T Kirwan, L Casey 0-1 each. 

Scorers for Clare: C Cleary 0-5, (3f), J Mason, E Cleary, E Courtney 0-1 each. 

TIPPERARY: G Slattery; J Feehan, A Hanley, D Fitzgerald; T O’Donoughue, D Fitzelle, L Hayes; S O’Brien, B Hyland; G Henry, C Kennedy, T Kirwan; T Maher, D Devanney, A Dawson. 

Subs: P Lourham for Hanley, S Delaney for Henry, TJ Ryan for Kirwan, P Quirke for Kennedy, L Casey for Hayes. 

CLARE: L Corbett; D D’Aurio, C O’Brien, S Corry; S Garry, C Murray, C McNellis; N Pender, J Malone; E Cleary, M Bohannon, B Lynch; S O’Leary, C Cleary, J McNally. 

Subs: E Courtney for Bohannon, K Vaughan for D’Aurio, D Costigan for O’Leary. 

Referee: E Walsh, Kerry.